The goal of my project is to learn as much as I can about graduate school, publishing writing and finding entry-level work in the fields of writing and film production. As I do not know specifically what I want to do yet, I plan to interview former professors and people active in either/ both fields about their beginnings in the fields, their current jobs and what they think is most important for young, aspiring writers/ filmmakers to keep in mind during the transition from undergrad to the real world. In addition, I seek to discuss the objective importance of having a degree in both fields, if there is one, the value of previous field experience, and how having/not having a degree, internship experience, etc. effects candidates in the eyes of potential employers.  Since my interests are varied, I’m also seeking information from writers, agents and online sources about “how to” get your foot in the door, get published, network, build an online presence, etc. 




Leave a Reply.